top of page
  • Michael Oshman

Washington State’s Ban on PolystyreneFoam Containers Taking Effect June 1st

Washington State’s ban on polystyrene foam containers will take effect on June 1st. Originally passed in 2021, the ban prohibits the sale and distribution of polystyrene foam containers, coffee cups, plates, trays, and more.

$250 fines will be imposed for first time violations by manufacturers and can increase up to $1,000 for repeated violations. 10 other states have also passed bans to phase out polystyrene foam, including California, Oregon,

Colorado, Delaware, Virginia, Maryland, Maine,

New York, Vermont, and New Jersey. 


2 views0 comments


bottom of page